Taluku Panchayat

    Bagalkot district is one of the districts of Karnataka with 9 taluk’s. The district has a population of 16,51,892 in 2011, of which 83,427 are males and 81,7645 are females. Bagalkot district has 6 talukas. The climate here can go up to 42 degrees. Winter minimum temperatures usually range from 15 degrees. The three major rivers are Krishna, Ghataprabha and Malaprabha. Bagalkot is 520 km from Bangalore and having connectivity to Bijapur, Hubli and Belgaum. Tourist places around the districts are: Badami, Meenbasadi, Banashankari Temple, Shivayogi Mandir, Makkoota, Pattadakal, Aihole and Kudalasangama.

All taluka’s details are listed below,

  • Jamkhandi:

    Jamakhandi – A major Taluk station in Bagalkot district. The taluka panchayat consists of 25 elected representatives. There are historical reasons for the name Jamakhandi to come to this list. The ancient temple here is surrounded by the Jambukeshwar temple and the name of the town. This shrine belongs to the Chalukyas period. The 22nd Kannada Sahitya Sammelan was held in Jamkhandi in 1937. The Jamakhandi became famous for defeating Teppu Sultan in battle. Similarly, when Kittur Chennamma defeated, she gave her a curse saying, “Let your donkeys feed in your kingdom” As such, donkeys are still found in the Jamakhandi.

  • Bilagi:

    The beautiful outlook of the Taluk Panchayat is 35 km from the district headquarters and has 20 gram panchayats. The Sri Siddheswara Temple is a very beautiful temple in Bilagi. The caves are very old and include stone idols, places of residence Sindhur Laxman and two rivers- Krishna and Ghataprabha. The main farm here is the sugarcane surrounding the coconut palm, with a thick layer of greenery and a 3.5 cm long cemetery built into the river of krishna.

  • Badami:

    Badami Taluk panchayat has 42 grama panchayts. It hosts the historical monument of badami, pattadakal and religious places of banshanakri and mahakuta temples.

  • Bagalkot:

    In the time of Raja-Maharaaja’s, Bagalkot Taluk was called by “Balagarkote (ಬಳಗಾರಕೊಟೆ)”. After independence, this name was renamed as ‘Bagalkot’. Bagalkot Taluk was functioning in the Bijapur district council with a black development. In 1993, a three-tier system was declared Bagalkot Taluk Panchayat as the 22 Gram Panchayat Taluk. Date: -15-08-1997 declared as Bagalkot district.

  • Mudhol:

    Mudhol is a town, old Name Muduoolalu, in the Bagalkot District in the Northern part of the state of Karnataka, India. It is about 60 km from the district headquarters of Bagalkot town on the left bank of the Ghataprabha River. It is famous for a breed of dog known as the Mudhol Hound. As of 2007 Mudhol census, Mudhol has a population of 103,612. Males contribute 51% of the population and females 49%. Mudhol has an average literacy rate of 59%, male literacy is 60%, and female literacy is 40%. In Mudhol, 15% of the population is under 6 years of age. This compares with a population of 42,461 in 2001.

  • Hungund:

    The Hunagund Taluk Panchayat is located 35 km from the Bagalkot Zilla Panchayat Center and has 30 gram panchayats and 163 villages. Aihole, a prominent tourist destination in the Hunagund Taluk Panchayat, is one of the most famous Indian temples in the history of India. The village, which was glorious during the reign of Badami Chalukyas, has become the world’s largest city today, with more than 125 small shrines of sculptural richness scattered inside and outside the fort. Hence, the town is known as the architectural sculpture of Hindu temples. This is the pride of the taluk.

  • Ilkal, Rabkavi-Banahatti, Guledgudda are newly made taluk’s.